What Inspires You?

I had the pleasure of having the most intense experience of my life in every way you can imagine and some you probably can’t…deep in the Amazon on a thirty-three day transformation retreat. We learned many traditions and engaged in several ceremonies during this time, guided by a shaman who had experienced intense healing himself from this very selva (jungle).

IMG_5030

One type of ceremony we practiced was a coca ceremony, where the sacred plant is shared over the course of hours in a highly ritualistic setting while the group holds council on a single, chosen topic. It is important to note that these ceremonies were guided by a shaman whose focus is on healing, and were accompanied by elements of candles, song, blessings, and shared intentions.

IMG_5219

The topic for this particular ceremony was to ask ourselves: What inspires me? Where do I fit into the cosmic evolutionary journey? We talked about all sorts of ways to take action, to work with kids, to bring what we were learning in the jungle back to our “real world”, and how each of us individually felt inspired to provide a unique gift.

After some thought, here is what I had to say:

I do not know what my passions and talents are right now. I’m out wandering the world looking to discover just that: my inspiration, my gift to give. What I do know is that every one of us is unique. If we learn to live in a sustainable relationship with our Earth, life could go on and on and on, and there will never again be another “Me”.

IMG_5216

How exciting! The possibilities!! But I also get overwhelmed with the responsibility of this! I mean, wow. I believe we each have a particular place in time and space where our passions, talents, and skills meet in a perfect storm for what the community and the world need from us. Our gift and our service to the world is to be at our best and our happiest, really owning our true nature.

It reminds me of a drum circle, also unique to those who make it up and their ebbs and flows and rhythms in that moment. You don’t just go into the circle thinking, “I’m gonna rock this super sweet beat!” You listen, you feel it. Where is the space that is available to me, the place where my soul is needed? And as more of us realize that space and jump in with conviction, the collective rhythm takes it in and evolves exactly as it should.

I used to be overwhelmed and concerned…if I follow my dreams and passions and everyone else does too, who will want to be the garbage man (for example)?? Over time I have realized that if we were all living to our greatest creative potential, we wouldn’t be living the same stories that we are today. There very well might not be a need for a garbage man because we would have another unique solution entirely.

IMG_5059

I think this is critical. To see the possibilities that we haven’t even thought of yet, when we each take responsibility for following our passions and realizing our gifts, and creating new stories together. There are worse things you could be asked to do, no?

IMG_5395

When I left Denver to wander the world, expose myself to the unknown to get to the core of what is me, in some ways it was like a mini funeral. Sure, saying goodbye to familiarity was akin to a little death. During many goodbyes and ‘see ya laters’ friends opened up to me about why they will miss me. It was a unique and special opportunity for me to hear from the people I care about the most; what do they see in me?

I hold this in my heart as I wander and I hope to give others this gift in return. To tell them now, “Here is how I experience you… Here are the gifts that I get from you…” If we each seek to embody our own true nature, we can grow personally and in turn collectively participate in the evolutionary journey.

IMG_5029 

Leave a Reply

